skip navigation Arizona's Official Website

Board Members

Jeffrey Coker

Mr. H. Jeffrey Coker
Public Member
Board Chairman

The Arizona Peace Officer Standards & Training Board was originally comprised of nine members, appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. The Board included two sheriffs, two chiefs of police, a college faculty member in public administration or a related field, the state attorney general, the director of the Department of Public Safety, and two public members.

In 1977, the statutes were revised to require one sheriff come from a county with a population exceeding 200,000 and one sheriff from a county with a population less than 200,000. Additionally, one police chief was to be from a city with a population exceeding 60,000 and one from a city with a population less than 60,000.

In 1984, Board membership was expanded with the addition of the director of the Arizona Department of Corrections and an administrator of a county or municipal correctional facility. The number of members serving on the Board rose to thirteen in 1991, when the legislature added two additional members holding the rank of patrol officer or sergeant. It was specified that one of the two new members was to be from a city police agency and the other from a sheriff's office.

Today, the composition of the Board remains as established in 1991, with 13 members.

Steve Campbell

Sgt. Christopher Andreacola
Tucson Police Department

David Brown

Mr. David I. Brown
Public Member

Steve Campbell

Chief Steven Campbell
El Mirage Police Department

Robert Halliday

Director Robert C. Halliday
Arizona Department of Public Safety

Tom Horne

The Honorable Tom Horne
Arizona Attorney General

Sheriff Mascher

Sheriff Scott Mascher
Yavapai County Sheriff's Office

Anthony Nelson

Sergeant Anthony Nelson
La Paz County Sheriff's Office

Charles Ryan

Detention Director Mike Olson
Maricopa County Sheriff's Office

Sheriff Pribil

Sheriff Bill Pribil
Coconino County Sheriff's Office

Alan Rodbell

Chief Alan Rodbell
Scottsdale Police Department

Charles Ryan

Director Charles Ryan
AZ Department of Corrections

Charles Ryan

Professor Cornel D. Stemley
Grand Canyon University